Close this search box.

District News

St. Michaels High School Students Inducted into Honor Societies

SMMHS honor society group photo

St. Michaels Middle High School held a combined ceremony for students who were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS), the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS), and the National Art Honor Society (NAHS) on Friday, March 15, 2024.


NHS recognizes students who have demonstrated excellence in scholarship, service, leadership, and character. Eligibility is open to juniors and seniors with a 3.2 GPA and 75 service learning hours completed. Those students receive an application to submit, which goes before a committee comprised of teachers, club advisors, and coaches for review. Selection is based on the four NHS Principles: Character, Leadership, Service, and Scholarship. The St. Michaels High chapter advisor is Mr. JR Burkhardt.


The 2024 St. Michaels High School NHS inductees are as follows:


Jack Brennan, Lola Browning, Blake Carter, Manny Coleman, Chris Davis, Maddie Dunker, Molly Genrich, Ayla Gowe, Pearson Greenwood, Kelly Kriete, Brynn Lizewski, Karina Mazur, Hristos Mihalis, Gabby Pickens, Madelynne Plog, Lexi Rockwell, Zoey Saia, Aine Taylor, Tom Weller


NTHS recognizes student achievement in the Career and Technical Education (CTE) Pathways offered at Talbot County Public Schools, such as Culinary Arts, Biomedical Technology, Interactive Media Production, Carpentry, and Teacher Academy of Maryland. Students must have maintained a 3.0-grade point average in their pathway and be enrolled in the third course of a CTE Completer program to be eligible to apply. Ms. Gia Ristvey and Mrs. Lauren Greer serve as chapter advisors.


The following students were inducted into the St. Michaels High School NTHS: Harlin Bartolon, Will Bridges, Lola Browning, Blake Carter, Chris Davis, Ayla Gowe, Natalie Haddock, Hudson Jones, Kelly Kriete, Aurora Lines, Chris Massaro, Henry Mullikin, Gabby Pickens, Brooke Reilly, Christopher Stang, Madeline Stein, Reagan Wibberley


The NAHS was established specifically for high school students, grades 10-12, to inspire and recognize those who have shown outstanding ability in Art. The NAHS challenges members to work to attain the highest standards in art and to bring art education to the attention of the school and community. Mrs. Bridget Whithed is the SMMHS NAHS chapter advisor.


The 2024 St. Michaels High School NAHS inductees are as follows: Lola Browning, Mathew Goeller, Abrianna Henry, Trysten Lee, Emmah Lewis, Brynn Lizewski, Luella Manner, Jay Moritz, Gabby Pickens, Lexi Rockwell, Melanie Serrano, Christopher Stang, Kylie Stroud, Aine Taylor, Ollie West, Madison White

“I am extremely proud of all of these students for their work both in and out of the classroom and for the example they set as student leaders,” said Mrs. Theresa Vener, Principal. “I know they will continue to set the bar high for our school community and beyond. Congratulations to the students and their families.”