Board of Education

Board of Education Meetings

The Board of Education holds monthly meetings and work sessions throughout the year. Meeting agendas, minutes, supporting documents and archived meeting videos are available. Meetings generally begin with a work session at 6pm followed by the general meeting at 7pm. Board of Education meetings are held at the Talbot County Education Center, and the public is invited and encouraged to attend.

Emily Jackson (Board Member)

Emily Jackson- Board President: District 4

Mrs. Jackson is a resident of Wye Mills. A mother of four, her school-aged children currently attend Talbot County Public Schools. She is an established professional family and newborn photographer with a studio on the Eastern Shore. Her aspiration and enthusiasm for civic responsibility and leadership began early in her life at Northeastern University in Boston, Massachusetts. She has worked on Capitol Hill, for the American Public Works Association, for the University of Maryland, and a variety of grassroots philanthropic organizations in fundraising and development.

Candace Henry Board Member

Candace Henry- Board Vice President: District 2

Mrs. Henry is the Director of the Disability Resource Center at Salisbury University. She and her husband Garnell are Easton natives, and graduates of Easton High School. They reside in Easton with their two children, Gabrielle and Trey who attend Talbot County Public Schools. Mrs. Henry is actively involved in the local community, and recently served as Secretary of the Easton Elementary School PTO. In addition, she is a member of Association on HigherEducation and Disability (AHEAD), Salisbury University Women's Forum Board, and theMaryland Rehabilitation Association, where she previously served as President. Mrs. Henry is passionate about social justice, access, equity, and inclusion. She utilizes the social adapted and empowerment model of disability to promote self-advocacy, leadership, and inclusion for all students.

Board Member Jymil Thompson

Jymil Thompson Ed.D- Board Member: District 1

Dr. Jymil Thompson is a passionate educator with over 16 years of experience in K-12 education. He currently serves as the Head of Schools of Polaris Village Academy and the Director of Programs at the John and Janice Wyatt Foundation. Dr. Thompson previously served as Principal of Maces Lane Middle School in Cambridge, Maryland, as an Assistant Principal of the freshman academy in Colorado Springs, Colorado, and as Director of Special Education and Student Support Services for a charter school network serving four schools in Washington, D.C., and Maryland. Committed to education and services for students with disabilities, he founded a tutoring and diagnostic company to address compensatory education needs in Washington, D.C., and Maryland. Dr. Thompson received a Bachelor of Arts in Psychology from Penn State University, a Master of Arts Degree in teaching from Trinity University, a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in Educational Administration and Policy from Howard University, and a Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Indiana Wesleyan University.

Board Member Amy Dodson

Amy Dodson- Board Member: District 3

Mrs. Amy Dodson, originally from North Carolina, has lived in Maryland since 1998. Her husband, Scott Dodson, is a native of the Eastern Shore and a 24-year teaching veteran. They have resided in Easton since 2013 and have three sons who are enrolled in Talbot County Public Schools. Mrs. Dodson has a Bachelor of Science in Business from Chowan University, North Carolina. She works as a National Sales Director within the safety industry, with advanced knowledge of confined space air quality and associated contaminates. Mrs. Dodson’s youngest son has Down Syndrome, and she has been involved in Down Syndrome advocacy since his birth. She is passionate about success for all students.

District 5

Open Seat

Mary Wheeler Board Member

Mary Wheeler- Board Member: District 6

Mrs. Wheeler, is a customer service representative with Easton Utilities Commission, and resides in Easton with her husband Wayne. They have three children and five grandchildren. Her daughter teaches 5th grade for Caroline County Public Schools and her youngest grandchild will be attending Talbot County Public Schools in St. Michaels. She is a dedicated public servant and has been actively involved in the local community and in several organizations. Mrs. Wheeler served on the Board of Directors for the Waterfowl Festival, The Talbot County Chamber of Commerce and the Talbot Family Network. She was also a past member of the Chesapeake Women's Network, the Rotary Club of Easton and the VFW Auxiliary.

Board Member Deborah Bridges

Deborah Bridges- Board Member: District 7

Having grown up in an Air Force family, Mrs. Deborah Bridges moved to Talbot County with her family in the 1970s. A St. Michaels High School graduate, she is actively involved in the local community. She owned and operated Swan Cove Flowers for more than 38 years before recently selling the business. Mrs. Bridges has taught floral design at Chesapeake College and worked as a bookkeeper for several local businesses. She is the President of Holly LakeEnterprises, Inc., and the Garden Center Manager of Bridges Land Management, Inc. Mrs. Bridges is married to Edward M. Bridges, Jr., and they have two sons, Eric and Marc Bridges, two wonderful daughters-in-law, and five grandchildren.